Drowning – 4/28/2017

Im trying to breathe
But I’m still drowning
I’m drowning
You said that you loved me
But then you sailed away
And I’m still drowning
I’m drowning

How can you be this way?
How can you say these things
That you would love me
Forever and ever
You left me alone
In the open waves
You told me to hang on
And then you sailed away

The sea seemed sweet at first
Blue green wide open turf
The seaweed tangled me
And now I’m drowning
I begged for you to help
You smiled and said you would
Always be there for me
So why am I still drowning?

The movies seemed to warn
That this could happen
Others told us to take it slow
But you had this smile and laugh
You said that you would catch
Me if I ever fell
But we had no plan
For one of us drowning

So I’ll fight for myself
Swim harder against this current
Trying to drag me down
I miss you and it hurts
But I must breathe
I cannot drown

Leave a Reply

