New York, New York

A couple of days ago, my Grandma and I talked on the phone, and she told me how she and my Grandpa, who played Little Ricky on I Love Lucy as a child, are heading to Jamestown for a show.

And then they invited me to go with them!

It took a while of extreme stress figuring out the details, but tomorrow morning at 6am, I will be heading out to join them, and on Sunday we take a train to Jamestown.

Of course, me being me, I quickly researched everything there.

Jamestown, NY was founded in 1810, but wasn’t a full city until 1886. In 2010 the population count was 31,146. In 2015, it was estimated that there were about 30,075 people still living there, meaning people are actually moving away…

Wondering why people aren’t very inclined to live in Lucille Desiree Ball’s birthplace, I did some research to see what kind of attractions are there.

There appear to be some very nice ones scheduled for the next couple of weeks, but really, only a few. There is a Farmers Market, an Ice Rink, and some delicious looking food from Miley’s Old Inn. But the one that really caught my eye was this:

2016-07-28

A cruise ship! You can float around on a guided tour, enjoy delicious food, and feel the breeze.

Although we probably won’t have time to enjoy these sights for ourselves, its still fun to see what we will be near.

No, the reason I will be in New York is for the Lucille ball Comedy festival. Like I mentioned earlier, my Grandpa Joseph and his twin Michael Mayer played Little Ricky as children, and we will be going for his part of the show.

I also think it will be interesting to get to learn more about my 9th cousin twice removed, Lucy Ball.

So, on to Jamestown of New York, state of Excelsior. I’ll try to keep you posted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

