Fake Lovers Part Two

“I KNEW IT I KNEW IT I SO CALLED IT!!!!”

Demi and Emi were screaming dancing around their bedroom, while I stood in the middle with my hands over my ears.

“YOU GUYS!” I finally shouted. “STOP!” They froze and then pulled me over to their beanbag chair, still talking a mile a minute.

I had just told them that Bobby and I had gone on our first date, and they had gotten so excited I hadn’t even gotten a chance to say where we went. Now they asked as many questions as they could.

“What was it like?” Demi wondered.

“Where did you go?” Emi urged.

“Did you kiss?” Demi asked as Emi sighed dreamily.

“Wait, what? No!” I rolled my eyes. “We went out for some ice cream, and then walked around the park. We went on the swings and stuff, that’s it. And no, we definitely did not kiss.” I answered, emphasizing the last bit and looking pointedly at Demi who grinned bashfully.

“Oh that sounds so romantic.” Emi closed her eyes, imagining. We all laid down on the edge of the bed, and combed our hair with our fingers. “I just knew you two would always end up together.”

“But, you and Josh only just broke up! You moved on pretty fast…” Demi frowned.

“Well, he found someone he liked more, and so did I. Bobby is…sweet, and handsome, and chivalrous, and he is always there for me. When he found out Josh broke up with me, he literally ran to my house to give me a hug.” I said thoughtfully. “He really is perfect.”

“Wow. That is just too adorable.” They said in unison, then laughed. “So are you guys really a couple now?”

“I guess so.”

They started screaming again, and I smacked their arms to calm them down.

“You guys are such spazzes.” I sat them down and they started braiding each others hair, a weird habit they have. “Anyways, how are Jacob and Peter? Didn’t you guys go on a double date yesterday?”

“Oh, they’re as sweet as always, and yes we did, out to the movies.” Emi responded.

“Oohh we can go on big group dates now!!!” Demi squealed.

“Ya, maybe to that new movie coming out soon, what was it again?…”

We hung out for a few hours and then I went home and called Bobby.

“I told Demi and Emi, they freaked out like we thought they would. But I think we should take it a step further. We need to make sure Josh finds out, and since it’s already summer, it’s too late to spread the word in school. How can we get the news to him?”

“Well…is he still friends with you on Facebook?” Bobby asked.

“Last I checked, yes. He keeps posting pictures of him and Liz on dates.”

“Okay, so we will change our statuses to being in a relationship with each other, and then we can post some selfies or something I dunno…” He suggested.

“Good idea! Okay, so how about we go to the mall and do one of those photo booth things, and we can post them on our profiles?”

“Sounds like a plan! I’ll pick you up tomorrow afternoon.”

“See you then.” I hung up, and a little while later found myself choosing my favorite outfit for my date the next day. While I was ironing my dress, I looked up to see Avalon staring at me from the doorway.

“What’s up, nerd?” I asked.

“Why are you and Bobby pretending to date each other?” She asked bluntly.

“Close the door.” She did, and when she turned back around I gaped at her. “How did you find out?”

“Our rooms are right next door. I heard you and Bobby planning everything. But I can not figure out why you are pretending. Is it because you have had your heart broken and are in a jealous rage?” She cocked her head slightly, innocent eyes wide.

I glared at her.

“Yes, that is exactly it. Child, listen to me, you can’t tell ANYONE, okay?” I grabbed her shoulders. “It’s a big secret, no one else can know.”

“Not even Molly Wobbles?” Avalon asked sadly.

“Sure, you can tell your Hamster. But no one else!” I stared right into her eyes. “Promise?”

“Okay, promise. Molly will be sooo intrigued!” She skipped out of the room, humming to herself.

“Weirdest ten year old I’ve ever known…” I muttered to myself as I went to my laptop to change my Facebook status.

The next day, Bobby stopped by my house to pick me up for our second date.

I was checking my outfit one last time in the mirror in my room. I was wearing a short flowery dress and I’d put a gold headband on top of my hair like a crown. Just as I was placing my heart shaped necklace around my neck, I saw Avalon standing in the mirror behind me.

I spun around. “Not a word to anyone!” Then my mom called up the stairs to come down. I hurried down, and as Bobby and I were pulling away I looked up to see Avalon making a face at me through my bedroom window. A shiver went through me.

“Are you cold? You can borrow my jacket if you want.” Bobby offered.

“Oh thank you, yes.” We smiled at each other, and he pulled over and handed me his jacket, then drove out onto the freeway, heading towards the mall. When we got there, we went straight to the photo booth, and took a strip of cute photos. I kissed his cheek in one of them, and his surprised expression was perfect.

As we walked away towards another store I examined the final product.

“I think these will look cute on my profile.”

He pointed to the one of me kissing his cheek and said quietly, “This one’s my favorite.” I laughed, and he led me towards a pretzel stand.

When I got home that night, he gave me a hug at my front door, said goodnight, and then drove back off. I smiled, and headed inside.

Avalon stood staring at me. “You have been out a long while.”

“Gosh child, you scared me. And I was on a date, sometimes those go for ‘a long while’. Why are you still up? It’s past your bedtime.” I pulled of my sandals and jacket as she followed me up the stairs.

“Here, I can hang up your jacket.” Surprised, I let her take it while I started to change into pajamas. I’d forgotten to give Bobby back his jacket, and I made a mental note to give it back the next time I saw him.

“Thanks, that’s sweet of you.” And weird. I thought to myself. Since when was she polite? I shrugged and started brushing my hair.

“What is this?” She asked, holding up the photo strip. I snatched it out of her hand.

“They’re called pictures, ever heard of them?” I asked sarcastically.

“I meant the one where you are kissing him.”

I turned slowly. “We were on a date.”

“A fake date. People who are only pretending to love each other don’t kiss each other.” She put a hand on her hip.

“Actors do. I am an actress, remember the part I got in the school play last year?” I reminded her.

“It does not look like acting. Besides, you have never kissed anyone before, not even Josh. Why would you do it just for show?”

“Get out! Shoo! It’s fake, you don’t know what you’re talking about. I’m tired, go to bed!” I shoved her out my door and slammed it behind her. Sighing I sat on my bed.

It’s just fake. I told myself. I don’t really like him, and he doesn’t like me. We are just fake lovers.

But no matter how much I told myself that over the next week, it didn’t seem quite true.

And having Bobby’s jacket hanging in my closet didn’t help me when I tried to forget the kiss.

Leave a Reply

